The Rectorate

The Rectorate

The Universität Leipzig is managed by the rectorate. It is composed of the rector and three vice-rectors, elected by the Senate for five years, and the Head of Administration and Finance.

The Rectorate represents the Universität Leipzig externally and coordinated the cooperation of university members internally. It is in particular responsible for the basic budget, for structural developments, administrative and planning systems, developing and implementing the university development plan and for the approval of course and examination regulations.

The rectorate has established the following commissions:

  • Budget commission
  • Research commission
  • Technical equipment commission
  • Commission on teaching, studies and exams
  • Commission for the construction of the new university campus
  • Information and communication technologies commission

last update: 01.12.2016 


Rectorate of the
Universität Leipzig

Ritterstraße 26
04109 Leipzig

Phone: +49 341 97-30000
Fax: +49 341 97-30009