Facilitating Scholarly Relations

The University of Leipzig lays special emphasis on the involvement and integration of its scholars into cooperative research projects and networks, and on the extension and intensification of the university’s research collaborations – with other universities, non-university research institutes, the public sector and business enterprises.

Cooperation with External Partners

The UL maintains long-standing cooperations with a large number of non-university research institutions which include joint appointments, collaborative research projects and doctoral training.  In recent years 20 research institutions - including three Max-Planck-Institutes, two Institutes of the Fraunhofer Society, three Leibniz Institutes, one Helmholtz Centre - have gathered around the University of Leipzig and the other five universities, thereby permanently strengthening the research potential of the region (see also Leipzig Research Forum).

Affiliated Institutes of the Universität Leipzig

Affiliated institutes are legally independent institutes which supplement the offers of the university in the fields of research and advanced training.

Endowed Professorships

Faculty of Philology
Prof. Dr.  Foteini Kolovou
Byzantine and Modern Greek Philology
Endowed by the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of

Faculty of Social Sciences and Philosophy
Prof. Dr. Ansgar Zerfaß  
Communication Management in Politics and Business
Endowed by Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft, Stiftung zur Förderung der PR-Wissenschaft an der Universität Leipzig, Stadtwerke Leipzig, Vattenfall Europe AG

Faculty of Economics and Management
Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Bruhnke  
Technical and Infrastructural Facility Management
Endowed by Verein der Freunde des Bauingenieur- und Wirtschaftsingenieurwesens
an der Universität Leipzig e. V.

Prof. Dr. Manfred Röber  
New Public Management
Endowed by Wüstenrot Stiftung

Prof. Dr. Thomas Bruckner 
Energy Management and Sustainablitiy
Endowed by Vattenfall Europe AG and Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft

Faculty of Medicine

Prof. Dr. Hartmuth Bittner 
Experimental and Clinical Thoracic Organ Transplantation
Endowed by Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft

Prof. Dr. Thomas Claudepierre
Biomedical Basis of Retina Surgery
Endowed by Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft (Fritz und Hildegard

Prof. Dr. Torsten Doenst 
Metabolism in Cardiac Surgery
Endowed by DFG (Heisenberg-Professor)

Prof. Dr. Matthias Gutberlet 
Cardiac Imaging
Endowed by Herzzentrum Leipzig GmbH

Prof. Dr. Horst Hummelsheim 
Neurological Rehabilitation
Endowed by Neurological Rehabilitation Centre; Michels-Kliniken Bennewitz

Prof. Dr. Martin Kostelka 
Paediatric Cardiac Surgery
Endowed by Herzzentrum Leipzig GmbH

Prof. Dr. Hans-Helmut König
Health Economics
Financed by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research

Prof. Dr. Antje Körner 
General Paediatrics/Paediatric Research
Financed by Else Kröser Fresenius Stiftung, Deutsche Diabetes Stiftung,
Roland Ernst Stiftung für Gesundheitswesen, K.I.T. GmbH Berlin

Prof. Dr. Axel H.-P. Linke 
Preventive/Regenerative Cardiology
Endowed by Herzzentrum Leipzig GmbH

Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
Prof. Dr. Volker Gruhn
Angewandte Telematik/Schwerpunkt e-Business
Stifter: Deutsche Telekom AG

last update: 17.08.2018 


Research- and Transfer-Service
Dr. Holger Uhlig
Ritterstraße 26
04109 Leipzig

Phone: +49 341 97-35014
Fax: +49 341 97-35009

Further Informations