The Senate is a central committee of Leipzig University. It plays an essential role in the University’s strategic orientation in research, study and teaching.

Beratunssituation anlässlich der Senatzsitzung sitzen die Vertreter aus Hochschulleitung, Fakultäten und Stuiendenschaft an einem Tisch und beraten sich.
Committee work during the Senate meeting on 16 May 2017. Photo: Swen Reichhold

Function and tasks

The individual responsibilities of the Senate are set forth in Section 81 of the Saxon Freedom of Higher Education Act (SächsHSFG). The responsibilities include the following and other tasks:

The Senate

  • decides in fundamental matters concerning the promotion of young academics and artists, teaching, research, and the arts,
  • formulates principles for the organisation of teaching and studying,
  • decides on the University’s development planning,
  • proposes members for the University Council.

Commissions and committees

The Senate has established the following commissions and committees:

  • Equal Opportunities Committee
  • Election Committee
  • Commission for Investigating Allegations of Academic Misconduct.
Zur Senatssitzung am 16. Mai 2017 sitzen Vertreter der Fakultät am Runden Tisch und besprechen hochschulpolitische Themen. Im Vorderungrund ist Prof. Dr. Rochus Leonhardt zu sehen, der gerade spricht.
Senate meetings serve to discuss issues of University policy. Here Professor Rochus Leonhardt, Dean of the Faculty of Theology, is shown speaking at the meeting on 16 May 2017. Photo: Swen Reichhold

Senate meetings

Senate meetings are open to the University public. This means that all members of Leipzig University (students and staff) can participate in Senate meetings. Personnel matters are not dealt with in public.

Meeting dates 2021

  • 26 January 2021
  • 23 February 2021
  • 23 March 2021
  • 20 April 2021
  • 18 May 2021
  • 15 June 2021
  • 13 July 2021
  • 14 September 2021
  • 12 October 2021
  • 9 November 2021
  • 7 December 2021

Senate members

Senate members with voting rights (senators) are elected. They represent university lecturers, academic staff, students and other staff in the Senate.

Our university’s Rector, Vice-Rectors, Head of Administration and Finance, deans, Commissioner for Equal Opportunities and representatives of the Student Council are non-voting members of the Senate who act in an advisory capacity. The Rector prepares the meetings of the Senate and its commissions and chairs the Senate meetings.

University lecturers

  • Professor Claus Altmayer, Faculty of Philology
  • Professor Barbara Drinck, Faculty of Education
  • Professor Gotthold Gäbel, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
  • Professor Gerhard Heyer, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Professor Josef Alfons Käs, Faculty of Physics and Earth Sciences
  • Professor Kai von Klitzing, Faculty of Medicine
  • Professor Anja Mehnert, Faculty of Medicine
  • Professor Matthias Middell, Faculty of Social Sciences and Philosophy
  • Professor Rebecca Pates PhD, Faculty of Social Sciences and Philosophy
  • Professor Charlotte Schubert, Faculty of History, Arts and Oriental Studies
  • Professor Frank Zöllner, Faculty of History, Arts and Oriental Studies

Academic staff

  • Marianne Aussenac-Kern, Faculty of Philology
  • Dr Bert R. E. Klagges, Faculty of Life Sciences
  • Dr Thomas Riemer, Faculty of Medicine
  • Dr Alexander Yendell, Faculty of Medicine


  • Benedikt Bierbaum, Faculty of Medicine
  • Christopher Hermes, Faculty of Law
  • Paul Reinhardt, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Lea Ruppert-Hoffmann, Faculty of Education

Other staff

  • Charlotte Bauer, University Library
  • Markus Lorenz, Faculty of Life Sciences


  • Professor Beate A. Schücking, Rector
  • Professor Thomas Hofsäss, Vice-Rector for Education and International Affairs
  • Professor Erich Schröger, Vice-Rector for Research and Young Academics
  • Professor Thomas Lenk, Vice-Rector for Development and Transfer
  • Professor Birgit Dräger, Head of Administration and Finance


  • Professor Andreas Schüle, Faculty of Theology
  • Professor Tim Drygala, Faculty of Law
  • Professor Rose Marie Beck, Faculty of History, Arts and Oriental Studies
  • Professor Beat Siebenhaar, Faculty of Philology
  • Professor Brigitte Latzko, Faculty of Education
  • Professor Astrid Lorenz, Faculty of Social Sciences and Philosophy
  • Professor Johannes Ringel, Faculty of Economics and Management Science
  • Professor Gregor Hovemann, Faculty of Sport Science
  • Professor Michael Stumvoll, Faculty of Medicine
  • Professor Martin Middendorf, Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science
  • Professor Marc Schönwiesner, Faculty of Life Sciences
  • Professor Christoph Jacobi, Faculty of Physics and Earth Sciences
  • Professor Roger Gläser, Faculty of Chemistry and Mineralogy
  • Professor Thomas Vahlenkamp, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine

Commissioner for Equal Opportunities

  • Georg Teichert

Permanent guest

  • Carsten Heckmann, Department of University Communications

You may also like

University Council

Read more


Read more

Extended Senate

Read more