Your UniCard officially identifies you as a student of our university, accompanying you throughout your studies. You use your UniCard to pay in the refectories, you need it for photocopying and printing, and it serves as a library card and as your personal public transport pass.

Features of the UniCard

The chip card in detail

Use your UniCard to pay at the various refectories and cafés run by Leipzig Student Services. Remember to put credit on the card first!

  • You can top up your card with cash at the machines in the entrance area of each refectory or cafeteria.
  • You can use AutoLoad to top up your card automatically at the till.
    If your credit is used up or has fallen below the limit you have set, you can automatically top up your card when paying at one of the refectory tills.  To do this, you will first need to set up a SEPA direct debit with the Studentenwerk Leipzig. You can use the card service portal to set how much credit will be added to your account.
    If you would like to use AutoLoad, please register at the Student Service Centre (SSZ).
    Learn more

 

If you wish to use our photocopiers, you will need to add copy credit to your UniCard. The accounts for your refectory and copy credit are separate and you top them up at stations.
Top-up stations for your photocopying account can be found at three locations:

  • Bibliotheca Albertina (2nd floor, open access and behind the gate on the ground floor)
  • Campus Library (photocopying room on the ground floor)
  • Law Library (2nd floor inside the Petersbogen building).

Important: your photocopying account is not the same as your printing account for the University Computing Centre!

You can top up your printing account by moving credit from your refectory account to your printing account at a transfer machine. This credit is then registered under your university login and no longer on your card. You can find these machines at a number of locations, including the Neues Augusteum (2nd Floor, outside room A 252) and inside the Geisteswissenschaftliches Zentrum (Beethovenstraße 15).

Your UniCard allows you to borrow media at all of the branches of the University Library. You will find your eight-digit library number on the back of the card. If you lose your UniCard, please do not forget to block your library account.

The MDV network will change on 15 December 2019!

From 15 December 2019, the area served by the Mitteldeutscher Verkehrsverbund (Central German Transport Network) will be extended to include the train routes of the districts of Anhalt-Bitterfeld, Wittenberg and the city of Dessau-Roßlau (“MDV-Nord”).
This extension is not covered by the MDV part of the Leipzig University semester fee. If you wish to travel to the extended MDV area, you must therefore make sure that you purchase the applicable additional ticket from the MDV range. For more information about the MDV network, please refer to the Studentenwerk Leipzig website.

You can use all public transport available in the relevant part of the MDV network, such as trams, buses, and suburban and regional trains. Please make sure that your UniCard has been validated and clearly displays a stamp for the current semester.

As of the winter semester 2019/20, newly enrolled students can already use public transport one month before the start of the semester. As a ticket, please use your valid UniCard together with an official identity document (with a photograph) and a copy of your enrolment certificate.

You are only entitled to use public transport if you are carrying your UniCard.
Your enrolment certificate alone is not a valid ticket.

Validate your UniCard

To ensure that your UniCard is always valid for the current semester, please get it stamped again once you have re-enrolled. To do this, insert your UniCard into one of the special machines. It will be returned to you a few seconds later with a new stamp.

The machines can be found at four different locations:

  • Goethestraße 6, foyer (two machines)
  • Neues Augusteum, Augustusplatz campus, ground floor (two machines)
  • Faculty of Chemistry and Mineralogy, Johannisallee 29, ground floor
  • Geisteswissenschaftliches Zentrum, Beethovenstraße 15, ground floor.

New Students: Obtaining Your UniCard

Your personalised UniCard is the last step on your path to formally starting your studies. You will receive your student card when you have submitted all your documents, transferred the semester fee and the UniCard fee, and uploaded your passport photo.

It costs 10 euros to issue the UniCard. We charge this fee together with the semester fee. Please refer to your provisional enrolment certificate for more information.

  • Once you are fully enrolled, your AlmaWeb applicant account will be converted into a student account and you will receive an email from our university’s identity management system (IdM). Among other things, this email will ask you to upload a passport photo for your UniCard
  • Please log in to the Identity Manager (IdM) portal and accept the terms of use for the University Computer Centre and the University Library.
  • Upload a photo for your UniCard. It should be a recent portrait shot of you in passport photo quality (at least 150 x 200 pixels, maximum 450 x 500 pixels).
  • When the upload is complete, your photo will be outlined in red while we check it. If your selection is accepted, a green frame will appear. If your photo is not suitable, we will send you an email.
  • If for technical reasons you are unable to upload your passport photo, please hand it in to us in person along with this form.

Do you have any questions or are you experiencing problems uploading your photo? Please send us an email.
If you are having problems with your login information, please contact the University Computing Centre email.

Once you have enrolled, you will receive an email to your university email address as soon as your UniCard is ready for collection. Attached to this email you will find a collection slip, which we kindly ask you to show – together with your identity card – when collecting your UniCard.

New students: Picking up your UniCard for the winter semester 2019/2020

Please collect your UniCard during our office hours.

From 21 Oct. 2019
UniCard service point in the
Student Service Centre,
Goethestraße 6, ground floor

Monday to Thursday:
12pm–3pm        
Friday:           
9am–12pm

Your new UniCard will already be validated for the first semester. In subsequent semesters, you will have to update your UniCard by yourself at one of our validation stations.

UniCard for returning students: Have you already been enrolled at Leipzig University in the past and now decided to resume your studies? Then please come to the UniCard service point to have a new student ID card issued. You will receive your new UniCard when you have submitted all your documents and transferred the semester fee as well as the UniCard fee. You are welcome to bring a new photo with you.

UniCard der Universität Leipzig abholen
Photo: Leipzig University

Problems with Your UniCard

If someone hands in your UniCard to us, we will usually inform you by email within two to three working days. If you do not receive an email from us, please come and see us during our UniCard service point office hours in order to request a new card. This service costs 10 euros.

  • Please have your enrolment number ready.
  • Make sure your old library card is blocked by the University Library.
  • Have Leipzig Student Services transfer the remaining balance of your refectory account to your new card.

It is not possible to refund the remaining balance of your photocopying account. This does not affect your printing account.

You can use this opportunity to submit a more recent photo. To do this, please email us with your preferred photo (JPEG format, up to 450 x 500 pixels) together with your enrolment number and a brief explanation before you come to the service point.

If your UniCard is scratched or losing its plastic cover, please get a new one soon. This is the only way you can be sure that your UniCard will still be accepted on public transport.

Please come to the UniCard service point to renew your card free of charge.

Please request a new card. This is the only way you can be sure that your UniCard will still be accepted on public transport.

Please come to the UniCard service point to renew your card free of charge.

You can use this opportunity to submit a more recent photo. To do this, please email us with your preferred photo (JPEG format, up to 450 x 500 pixels) together with your enrolment number and a brief explanation before you come to the service point.

Deutsche Bahn has confiscated student ID cards on a number of occasions because they were deemed too dirty or difficult to read. We ask all students not to surrender their UniCard. The card is the property of Leipzig University and not just a travel pass, but also proof of your student status.

We are aware of a number of instances where Deutsche Bahn has confiscated UniCards that were dirty or difficult to read, on the grounds that they appeared to have been manipulated. The Central German Transport Network (MDV) has been notified of the problem and is working on a solution. To avoid this situation, please come to the service point as soon as possible if your UniCard is worn or difficult to read.

Has Deutsche Bahn already taken your UniCard?

  • You will need to contact the UniCard service point.
  • Please bring the document you were given by Deutsche Bahn with you, or email it to us.

Are you being shown the error message 448 when photocopying, or does the charging station say Karte ungültig (card invalid)? This means your photocopying account was probably locked by the last machine you used.

  • Please go back to that machine and re-insert your card to unlock it.
  • If that doesn’t work, please contact the UniCard service desk.

The photocopying and refectory accounts on your UniCard are managed separately. You can therefore continue to use your refectory account if your photocopying account is locked and you haven’t yet had time to go to the service point.

Please contact Leipzig Student Services in the Student Service Centre.

The refectory and photocopying accounts on your UniCard are managed separately. You can therefore continue to use your photocopying account if your refectory account is locked and you haven’t yet had time to go to Leipzig Student Services.

Your UniCard after studying

Your UniCard becomes invalid on exmatriculation. If you initially paid a deposit for your card, you can have this money refunded.
This applies to all enrolments prior to 1 December 2017.

If you were enrolled before 1 December 2017, you can request a refund of the deposit of 10 euros. To do this, fill in the deposit refund application and hand this and your UniCard in to the Student Service Centre within two semesters after your exmatriculation.

Please have any credit refunded to you before handing in your UniCard.

  • You can have your remaining refectory credit paid out at one of the café cash desks or at the Leipzig Student Services counter in the Student Service Centre.
  • The student photocopying service can determine and refund the remaining balance of your photocopying account. To do this, please contact:

    Service Point Canon University Services in Leipzig/mobilblitz
    Neumarkt 27
    04109 Leipzig

     

You may also like

Guidance and services

Read more

University Library

Read more

Re-enrolment and semester fee

Read more

Exmatriculation

Read more
Back to top

Ihre UniCard weist Sie offiziell als Studentin oder Student unserer Universität aus und begleitet Sie über Ihr gesamtes Studium. Mit der UniCard bezahlen Sie in der Mensa, Sie benötigen sie zum Kopieren und Drucken, verwenden sie als Bibliotheksausweis und als „Fahrkarte“ für den öffentlichen Personennahverkehr.

Service-Point UniCard geschlossen: 22.12.2018 – 02.01.2019

Über Weihnachten und Neujahr ist der Service-Point nicht besetzt. Wir sind am 3. Januar 2019 wieder für Sie da. Wir wünschen Ihnen ein frohes Weihnachtsfest und einen guten Rutsch ins neue Jahr.

Funktionen der UniCard

Die Chipkarte im Detail

Mit der UniCard können Sie in der Mensa oder in den zahlreichen Cafeterien des Studentenwerks bezahlen – sofern Sie Guthaben auf der Karte haben. Ihr Mensakonto können Sie an den Aufladestationen im Eingangsbereich der jeweiligen Mensa oder Cafeteria mit Bargeld aufladen.

Zum Kopieren benötigen Sie Kopierguthaben auf Ihrer UniCard. Die Konten für die Mensa und für das Kopieren sind separate Konten, die an verschiedenen Stationen aufgeladen werden.
Aufladestationen für Ihr Kopierkonto finden Sie an fünf Standorten:

  • Bibliotheca Albertina (2. Obergeschoss Freihand und Erdgeschoss hinter der Pforte)
  • Campus-Bibliothek (Kopierraum im Erdgeschoss)
  • Bibliothek Rechtswissenschaft (2. Obergeschoss im Petersbogen)
  • Bibliothek Sportwissenschaft (Haus 2 im Erdgeschoss)
  • Bibliothek Chemie/Physik(Erdgeschoss)

Wichtig: Ihr Kopierkonto ist nicht Ihr Druckkonto für das Universitätsrechenzentrum! Das Druckkonto laden Sie auf, indem Sie an einem Umbuchungsautomaten Guthaben von Ihrem Mensakonto auf Ihr Druckkonto übertragen. Dieses Guthaben ist dann unter Ihrem Uni-Login vermerkt und nicht mehr auf Ihrer Karte. Die Automaten finden Sie unter anderem im Neuen Augusteum (2. Etage vor Raum A 252) oder im Geisteswissenschaftlichen Zentrum (Beethovenstraße 15).

Mit Ihrer UniCard können Sie an allen Standorten der Universitätsbibliothek Bücher ausleihen und die Rechner vor Ort nutzen. Um sich einzuloggen, brauchen Sie die achtstellige Bibliotheksnummer, die Sie fett gedruckt auf der Rückseite Ihrer Karte finden.

Sie können die UniCard uneingeschränkt als Fahrkarte im Gebiet des Mitteldeutschen Verkehrsbunds nutzen. Dazu zählen alle öffentlichen Verkehrsmittel wie Tram, Bus, S-Bahn oder Zug. Achten Sie bitte darauf, dass der Semesteraufdruck (Validierung) auf dem neuesten Stand und gut zu erkennen ist.

Sie können den öffentlichen Personennahverkehr nur mit Ihrer UniCard nutzen. Ihre Immatrikulationsbescheinigung ist kein gültiger Fahrausweis.

Die UniCard validieren

Damit Ihre UniCard immer für das aktuelle Semester gültig ist, bedrucken Sie diese bitte neu, nachdem Sie sich ordnungsgemäß zurückgemeldet haben. Lassen Sie die Karte vom Gerät einlesen – nach wenigen Sekunden erhalten Sie einen frischen Aufdruck.

Die Automaten finden Sie an vier verschiedenen Standorten:

  • Goethestraße 6, Eingangsbereich (zwei Automaten)
  • Neues Augusteum, Campus Augustusplatz, Erdgeschoss (zwei Automaten)
  • Fakultät für Chemie und Mineralogie, Johannisallee 29, Erdgeschoss
  • Geisteswissenschaftliches Zentrum, Beethovenstraße 15, Erdgeschoss

Die UniCard für Studienanfänger

Ihre personalisierte UniCard ist der letzte Schritt zum offiziellen Studieneinstieg. Sie erhalten Ihren Studierendenausweis, wenn Sie alle Unterlagen abgegeben, den Semesterbeitrag und die UniCard-Gebühr überwiesen und Ihr Passbild hochgeladen haben.

Für die Ausstellung der UniCard fällt eine Gebühr in Höhe von 10 Euro an. Diese Gebühr erheben wir zusammen mit dem Semesterbeitrag. Nähere Informationen dazu finden Sie auf Ihrer vorläufigen Immatrikulationsbescheinigung.

  • Nach der erfolgreichen Immatrikulation, wird Ihr AlmaWeb-Bewerber-Account in einen Studierenden-Account umgewandelt und Sie erhalten eine E-Mail vom Identitätsmanagement-System (IDM) unserer Universität. In dieser E-Mail werden Sie unter anderem aufgefordert, ein Passbild für die UniCard hochzuladen.
  • Melden Sie sich bitte im Portal Identity Manager (IDM) an und bestätigen Sie die Benutzerordnungen für das Universitätsrechenzentrum und die Universitätsbibliothek.
  • Laden Sie ein Passfoto für die UniCard hoch. Es sollte eine aktuelle Porträtaufnahme in Passbildqualität sein (mindestens 150 mal 200 Pixel, maximal 450 mal 500 Pixel).
  • Nach dem Upload prüfen wir das Bild, bis dahin ist es rot umrandet. Wird Ihre Auswahl akzeptiert, erscheint ein grüner Rahmen. Ist Ihr Foto ungeeignet, erhalten Sie eine E-Mail.
  • Sollte es Ihnen aus technischen Gründen nicht möglich sein, ein Passfoto hochzuladen, geben Sie es bitte zusammen mit dem Antrag-UniCard direkt bei uns ab.

Haben Sie Fragen oder Probleme mit dem Upload? Dann schreiben Sie uns eine E-Mail.
Sollten Sie Schwierigkeiten mit Ihren Zugangsdaten haben, kontaktieren Sie bitte das Universitätsrechenzentrum per E-Mail.

Wenn Sie neu eingeschrieben sind, bekommen Sie eine E-Mail an Ihre universitäre E-Mail-Adresse, sobald die UniCard abholbereit ist. Im Anhang dieser Mail befindet sich ein Abholschein, den Sie bitte zusammen mit Ihrem Personalausweis bei der Abholung vorzeigen.

Ihre neue UniCard ist bereits für das erste Semester validiert. In den folgenden Semestern müssen Sie die UniCard eigenständig an unseren Validierungsstationen auf den aktuellen Stand bringen.

UniCard der Universität Leipzig abholen
Foto: Universität Leipzig

Probleme mit der UniCard

Wenn Ihre UniCard bei uns abgegeben wird, informieren wir Sie in der Regel innerhalb von zwei bis drei Werktagen per E-Mail. Sollten Sie keine E-Mail von uns erhalten, kommen Sie bitte zu den Sprechzeiten des Servicepoint UniCard, um eine neue Karte zu beantragen. Dafür erheben wir eine Gebühr von 10 Euro.

  • Halten Sie bitte Ihre Matrikelnummer bereit.
  • Lassen Sie Ihren alten Bibliotheksausweis in der Universitätsbibliothek sperren.
  • Lassen Sie sich das Restguthaben Ihres Mensakontos vom Studentenwerk auf Ihre neue Karte übertragen.

Das verbliebene Guthaben des Kopierkontos kann nicht ausgezahlt werden. Ihr Druckkonto bleibt unbeeinflusst.

Sie können die Gelegenheit dazu nutzen, ein aktuelles Foto einzureichen. Senden Sie dazu Ihr Wunschfoto (jpeg-Format, bis 450 mal 500 Pixel) zusammen mit Ihrer Matrikelnummer und einer kurzen Mitteilung per E-Mail, bevor Sie zum Servicepoint kommen.

Wenn Ihre UniCard zerkratzt ist oder sich die Thermofolie löst, lassen Sie Ihren Ausweis bitte rechtzeitig erneuern. Nur so können Sie sicher sein, dass Ihre UniCard auch in den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln anerkannt wird.

Kommen Sie bitte in den Servicepoint UniCard, um Ihre Karte kostenfrei zu erneuern.

Bitte beantragen Sie eine neue Karte – nur so können Sie sicher sein, dass Ihre UniCard auch in den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln anerkannt wird.

Kommen Sie bitte in den Servicepoint UniCard, um Ihre Karte kostenfrei zu erneuern.

Sie können die Gelegenheit dazu nutzen, ein aktuelles Foto einzureichen. Senden Sie dazu Ihr Wunschfoto (jpeg-Format, bis 450 mal 500 Pixel) zusammen mit Ihrer Matrikelnummer und einer kurzen Mitteilung per E-Mail, bevor Sie zum Servicepoint kommen.

Die Deutsche Bahn hat bereits wiederholt Studienausweise eingezogen, weil sie schmutzig oder schlecht lesbar waren. Wir bitten alle Studierenden, ihre UniCard nicht aus der Hand zu geben. Die Karte ist Eigentum unserer Universität und nicht nur Fahrausweis, sondern auch der Nachweis Ihres Status als Studentin oder Student.

Die Deutsche Bahn hat schon mehrfach schlecht lesbare oder schmutzige und dadurch manipuliert wirkende UniCards eingezogen. Der Mitteldeutsche Verkehrsbund ist über das Problem informiert und arbeitet an einer Lösung. Um dieser Situation zu entgehen, lassen Sie Ihren abgenutzten oder schwer lesbaren Ausweis bitte zeitnah im Servicepoint erneuern.

Sie haben Ihren Ausweis bereits bei der Deutschen Bahn abgegeben?

  • Melden Sie sich bitte beim Servicepoint UniCard.
  • Bringen Sie die Fahrpreisnacherhebung mit oder senden Sie diese per E-Mail.

Ihnen wird beim Kopieren die Fehlermeldung 448 angezeigt oder das Kopieraufladegerät zeigt Ihnen Karte ungültig an? Dann wurde Ihr Kopierkonto wahrscheinlich am letzten Gerät, das Sie genutzt haben, gesperrt.

  • Gehen Sie an dieses Gerät zurück und stecken Sie die Karte nochmals ein, um Ihre Karte wieder zu entsperren.
  • Ist Ihr Konto weiterhin gesperrt, wenden Sie sich bitte an den Servicepoint UniCard.

Das Kopier- und das Mensakonto auf Ihrer UniCard werden separat verwaltet. So können Sie Ihr Mensakonto weiterhin nutzen, wenn Ihr Kopierkonto gesperrt ist und Sie es noch nicht zum Service Point geschafft haben.

Wenden Sie sich bitte an das Studentenwerk im Studenten Service Zentrum.

Das Mensa- und das Kopierkonto auf Ihrer UniCard werden separat verwaltet. So können Sie Ihr Kopierkonto weiterhin nutzen, wenn Ihr Mensakonto nicht funktioniert und Sie es noch nicht zum Studentenwerk geschafft haben.

Die UniCard nach dem Studium

Mit der Exmatrikulation wird Ihre UniCard ungültig. Sollten Sie am Anfang Ihres Studiums eine Kaution für die Karte gezahlt haben, können Sie sich das Geld zurückerstatten lassen.
Das betrifft alle Immatrikulationen vor dem 1. Dezember 2017.

Geben Sie die Karte innerhalb von zwei Semestern nach Studienende zusammen mit dem Antrag auf Rückerstattung der Kaution beim Studentensekretariat im Studenten Service Zentrum ab.

  • Ihr verbliebenes Mensaguthaben können Sie sich an den Bargeldkassen der Cafeterien oder am Tresen des Studentenwerks im Studenten Service Zentrum auszahlen lassen.
  • Das restliche Guthaben Ihres Kopierkontos ermittelt der Servicepoint UniCard. Der Studentenkopierdienst am Neumarkt 27 zahlt Ihnen anschließend den Restbetrag aus.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Beratungs- und Serviceangebote

mehr erfahren

Rückmeldung und Semesterbeitrag

mehr erfahren

Exmatrikulation

mehr erfahren
zum Seitenanfang