The transfer of knowledge gained in research and teaching to business, politics, culture and civil society is one of the central tasks of our university. Often, successful transfer is only possible through the above-average commitment of individuals. This extraordinary commitment is to be honoured with the Transfer Prize of Leipzig University. The Transfer Prize is endowed with €15,000.

Transer Prize 2023

What are the conditions to be met?

  • Individuals and teams can be nominated both for specific projects and for their outstanding commitment in the field of knowledge and technology transfer as a whole.
  • Proposals can be made by either third parties or by the applicant him/herself. All graduates and non-scientific members of Leipzig University can be nominated.
  • The prize money awarded has to be used for activities in the sense of knowledge or technology transfer at the University of Leipzig.

How does the process work?

Nominations can be submitted by email until 15 November 2023 and must include the following items:

  • Statement of reasons (max. 1 page),
  • Curriculum vitae in table form of the nominated person(s) as well as
  • Evidence of achievements in the field of knowledge and technology transfer.

The prizewinners will be selected by a jury chaired by the Vice-Rector for Excellence Development: Research and Transfer. Up to two prizes will be awarded.

Transfer Prizes 2021

In 2021, Leipzig University awarded a Transfer Prize and a Special Prize. The prize money totalling €30,000 is used to initiate and support activities that are designed to transfer knowledge or technology developed at our university. The University Society awards additional transfer prizes to staff and students.

Transfer Prize 2021: Professor Elisa Hoven

The jury selected Professor Elisa Hoven for her commitment to the successful transfer of outstanding research findings into social discourse and her contribution to Leipzig University’s profile as a bearer of social responsibility.

The prize money totalled €15,000.

enlarge the image: Prof. Dr. Thomas Lenk steht rechts im Bild. Prof. Dr. Elisa Marie Hoven steht links im Bild. Er überreicht ihr einen Blumenstrauß und gratuliert ihr.
Transfer Prize 2021: Professor Thomas Lenk presents the award to Professor Elisa Marie Hoven. Photo: Christian Hüller, Leipzig University

Special Prize for Transfer 2021: Professor Utz Dornberger

The prize recognises Professor Dornberger’s dedication to supporting research-based start-ups and providing research-based support for start-ups, helping Leipzig University become stronger and more visible in this field, and contributing to the positive development of Leipzig as a centre of research and business.

The prize money totalled €15,000.

enlarge the image: Prof. Dr. Thomas Lenk steht rechts im Bild. Er überreicht die Urkunde an Prof. Dr. Utz Dornberger und gratuliert ihm. Prof. Dr. Utz Dornberger steht links im Bild
Transfer Prize 2021: Professor Thomas Lenk presents the award to Professor Utz Dornberger. Photo: Christian Hüller, Leipzig University

Transfer Prize 2021: Jury’s Decisions

Our society is based on a social order that manifests itself in rules and norms. And criminal law is of fundamental importance here as it both defines essential principles for human coexistence and sanctions violations. However, criminal law is only effective if the following can be understood: Why do we punish people? What do we punish? Whom do we punish? How do we punish and what is the intention?

Professor Elisa Hoven has contributed greatly to a research-based and broad social discussion of these and related issues. Her achievements extend far beyond those generally expected of lawyers and thus represent a particularly valuable contribution to greater confidence in research and the rule of law. She brings recent research, including her own, into the public debate and speaks on current, highly relevant topics such as social cohesion and triage in the context of the COVID-19 pandemic. Her hard work, commitment and visible enthusiasm have paid off.

Professor Hoven’s active and dynamic media presence is both a means to an end and proof of her successful research communication. Through consistent, authentic and cross-media research communication, she has influenced public agenda setting and positioned herself on many topics including controversial ones such as hate speech, immigration and crime, animal welfare, and sexual criminal law.

In the context of countless public events, in opinion pieces and statements for major media outlets, she explains criminal law positions and situations and thus successfully mediates in the interaction between experts and laypersons. The website wires, wirerklaerenstrafrecht.de, which she both created and has the ongoing responsibility for, is also evidence of Elisa Hoven’s dedication. The name of the platform means “we explain criminal law” and as such speaks for itself. Its low-threshold and attractive texts, videos and links to further programmes, podcasts and articles aim to make criminal law understandable, even to those who aren’t lawyers – and it also has a wide reach as content from the site is published on social media.

When it comes to politics, Elisa Hoven is respected and admired across party lines. She is regularly consulted as an expert in political decision-making processes. And as a member of the group Kriminalpolitischer Kreis, for example, she submits highly regarded statements and proposals on current criminal law policy issues that are significant now and will be for many years to come. Her appointment as a judge to the Constitutional Court of the Free State of Saxony is further proof of her expertise and its added value for society.

Elisa Hoven also passes on her knowledge and experience to her students and makes it a priority that they learn how to make their legal knowledge understandable to a broad audience.

Her dedication to knowledge transfer is an example of Leipzig University’s commitment to making academic knowledge have long-term beneficial results both in and outside of research. Through the achievements honoured here, she has contributed significantly to the success and visibility of knowledge transfer at the University and inspires its members to engage in similar activities.

Professor Elisa Hoven receives the Transfer Prize 2021 from Leipzig University for the successful transfer of outstanding research findings into social discourse and for her contribution to raising Leipzig University’s profile as a bearer of social responsibility.

A key element of Leipzig University’s transfer profile is its experience in the area of supporting business start-ups. Students, graduates and researchers at the University are increasingly using their knowledge and the skills they have acquired in the course of their studies and research to establish start-ups that are as innovative as they are successful. These success stories inspire and motivate, and they have shaped Leipzig University’s external image in a particularly positive way for many years now. And they would not be conceivable without the exemplary commitment of Professor Utz Dornberger.

Utz Dornberger has led the Smile start-up initiative since its establishment in 2006 and has built it into a successful project that has received national visibility. He shows young people who are interested in starting their own business how they can have an attractive career path that goes beyond academia and working in a regular salaried position, and he gives them all the tools they need to be successful on the path to self-employment. And at the same time he has made a significant contribution to achieving the goals he has set and that Leipzig University has agreed on with the Free State of Saxony for this area of action.

Professor Dornberger regularly contributes his broad expertise in knowledge and technology transfer to the processes of identifying strategies at Leipzig University and in individual faculties. He supports using consensus strategies and successfully acts as a multiplier and advocate of knowledge and technology transfer. For many years, he has been a driving force behind Leipzig University’s progressive, transfer-relevant networking – no matter whether in Eilenburg or Meißen or in Tunis or Hanoi.

He also played a central role in expanding the Halle-Jena-Leipzig Central German University Alliance to include the area of supporting business start-ups. Thanks to Professor Dornberger’s work, it was possible to acquire the International Startup Campus. This Campus aims to attract international start-up teams to the region, create synergies through training programmes and support start-ups that are entering international markets. It is also his priority to provide research-based support for small and medium-size enterprises through the University’s International SEPT Program, for which he has served as the director since 2004. He also regularly mentors individual start-up teams; for example, he most recently served as a mentor for the Disaster Relief System team, which was able to acquire a grant from the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs to develop a water treatment system.

Utz Dornberger also brings his expertise in the fields of innovation and business development to various transfer-related committees and juries outside the University, in Leipzig and beyond. He hosts the popular and well-established Leipziger Gründernacht, where the prize winners present their business and start-up ideas. In addition, he has become a central figure and one of the key leaders in Leipzig’s start-up scene, which today makes a significant contribution to new beginnings, innovation and growth in our city.

Professor Dornberger has received this Special Prize for Transfer 2021 for his dedication to supporting research-based start-ups and providing research-based support for start-ups, helping Leipzig University become stronger and more visible in this field, and contributing to the positive development of Leipzig as a centre of research and business.

Transfer Prizes 2020

In 2020, Leipzig University awarded a Higher Education Transfer Prize, a Faculty of Medicine Transfer Prize and a Special Prize. The prize money totalling €37,500 is used to initiate and support activities that are designed to transfer knowledge or technology developed at our university.

Higher Education Transfer Prize 2020: Professor Almuth Einspanier

Professor Almuth Einspanier receives the Transfer Prize 2020 from Leipzig University for the successful transfer of outstanding research findings into practical applications that go beyond the consequences for animal welfare and have significant implications for politics, case law and consumers.

She is a professor for endocrinology and executive director of the Institute of Physiological Chemistry in the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine.

The prize money totalled €15,000.

enlarge the image: Endokrinologin Professorin Almuth Einspanier hält ein Ei in die Luft. Daneben ist ein Prototyp
Transfer Prize recipient Professor Almuth Einspanier. Photo: Swen Reichhold

Faculty of Medicine Transfer Prize 2020: Professor Thomas Arendt und Dr Jens Stieler

Professor Thomas Arendt and Dr Jens Stieler receive the Faculty of Medicine Transfer Prize 2020 in recognition of their exceptional work in translating clinical research into a market-ready product and their contribution to combating Alzheimer’s disease.

Thomas Arendt is a professor for neuroscience and director of the Paul Flechsig Institute of Brain Research in the Faculty of Medicine. Dr Jens Stieler is a research assistant at the Paul Flechsig Institute.

The prize money totalled €15,000.

enlarge the image:
Transfer Prize recipients Professor Thomas Arendt und Dr Jens Stieler. Photo: Linus Stieler

Special Prize for Transfer 2020: Professor Ulrich-Johannes Schneider

The jury awards Professor Ulrich-Johannes Schneider the Special Prize for Transfer for his life’s work and his achievements as a knowledge and research communicator.

Ulrich-Johannes Schneider is the director of the University Library and professor for cultural and social philosophy at the Institute for the Study of Culture in the Faculty of Social Sciences and Philosophy.

The prize money totalled €7,500.

enlarge the image:
Transfer recipient Professor Ulrich-Johannes Schneider. Photo: Swen Reichhold

Transfer Prizes 2020: Jury’s Decisions

The award winners were selected by a jury that was chaired by Professor Thomas Lenk, the vice-rector for development and knowledge transfer, and included University members and representatives from the relevant social sectors.

Higher Education Transfer Prize 2020

In Germany alone, about 100,000 day-old male chicks are killed every day immediately after hatching because they are not economically viable. Putting an end to this practice is a demand being voiced by a steadily growing number of social sectors and a goal set by the current federal government.  Most recently, the Federal Administrative Court declared the practice permissible, but only until procedures were introduced that allow the sex of the chick to be determined in ovo.

Thanks to her pioneering endocrinological research and her hard work and commitment, Professor Almuth Einspanier has succeeded in developing a method to determine the sex of chick embryos by means of hormone analysis and has contributed significantly to its marketability and economic exploitation. These eggs carry the Respeggt Label and are now widely available in retail stores.

Together with partners and sponsors from business and politics, Professor Almuth Einspanier forged the path from basic research and patenting to the market introduction of the in-ovo sex determination of chicks. Her work is an example of Leipzig University’s intention to make academic knowledge have long-term beneficial results both in and outside of research.

The path she took was certainly not an easy one. And yet her success shows that perseverance and persistence do pay off. In addition to the monetary value of the patent, the achievements honoured with this prize have contributed significantly to the visibility of transfer at Leipzig University and also serve the University’s goal of distinguishing itself as a driver of social innovation and inspiring its members to engage in similar activities.

Professor Almuth Einspanier receives the Transfer Prize from Leipzig University for the successful transfer of outstanding research findings into practical applications that go beyond the consequences for animal welfare and have significant implications for politics, case law and consumers.

Faculty of Medicine Transfer Prize 2020

Given the steady increase in the number of older and elderly people, Alzheimer’s disease presents our society with major challenges in the areas of medicine, health economics and care. About 1.2 million people in Germany live with the disease, and about 500 new cases are diagnosed every day. Early detection is an important step that makes it possible to implement successful strategies for prevention and treatment.

Thanks to many years of research – in the case of Professor Arendt twenty years – Professor Thomas Arendt and Dr Jens Stieler have succeeded in developing a blood test for the early diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease and in patenting and clinically validating the method. In partnership with a US company that is serving as a licensee for Leipzig University, the market launch of the test will soon be possible.

Professor Thomas Arendt and Dr Jens Stieler receive the Faculty of Medicine Transfer Prize 2020 in recognition of their exceptional work in translating clinical research into a market-ready product and their contribution to combating Alzheimer’s disease.

Special Prize for Transfer 2020

In countless lectures, exhibitions and other high-profile formats, Professor Ulrich-Johannes Schneider has worked hard to generate interest far beyond the disciplinary boundaries of philosophy and librarianship, brings attention to the relevance of academic knowledge, and makes this knowledge accessible and beneficial outside academic contexts.

Professor Schneider’s commitment to Leipzig’s Thomasius Club, an academic podcast, is just one example of his achievements. Since the podcast began in 2006, he has served as a co-moderator and been largely responsible for the regular episodes and success of this format of transparent research communication between academia and the local society, which has been able to reach a diverse audience.

Finally, Professor Schneider’s desire to make the wealth of knowledge that has been handed down and continually expanded at Leipzig University accessible to broad sections of society is also reflected in his pioneering efforts to increasingly make the University Library a place of exchange and encounter, using means of interior design as well as digitalisation.

The jury awards Professor Ulrich-Johannes Schneider the Special Prize for Transfer for his life’s work and his achievements as a knowledge and research communicator.

You may also like

Research and Transfer

Read more

Industry Partnerships

Read more

Inventions and Patents

Read more

Um herausragende Leistungen auf dem Gebiet des Wissens- und Technologietransfers zu würdigen, lobt unsere Universität seit dem Jahr 2020 Transferpreise aus. Damit zeichnen wir das herausragende Engagement unserer Wissenschaftler:innen aus, die im Rahmen von Forschung und Lehre gewonnenes Wissen anwenden und in Wirtschaft, Politik, Kultur oder Zivilgesellschaft übertragen.

Transferpreise 2021

2021 wurden ein Transferpreis und ein Sonderpreis verliehen. Die Preisgelder in Höhe von insgesamt 30.000 Euro werden zweckgebunden für die Initiierung und Unterstützung von Aktivitäten im Sinne des Wissens- oder Technologietransfers an unserer Universität eingesetzt.
Weitere Transferpreise für Mitarbeiter:innen und Studierende verleiht die Universitätsgesellschaft.

Transferpreis 2021: Preisträgerin Professorin Dr. Elisa Hoven

Mit dem Preis würdigt die Jury ihr Engagement bei der erfolgreichen Übertragung herausragender, wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse in den gesellschaftlichen Diskurs und ihren Beitrag zur Profilierung der Universität Leipzig als Trägerin gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung.

Das Preisgeld beträgt 15.000 Euro.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Lenk steht rechts im Bild. Prof. Dr. Elisa Marie Hoven steht links im Bild. Er überreicht ihr einen Blumenstrauß und gratuliert ihr.
Transferpreises 2021: Prof. Dr. Thomas Lenk überreicht die Auszeichnung an Prof. Dr. Elisa Marie Hoven. Foto: Christian Hüller/Universität Leipzig

Sonderpreis Transfer 2021: Preisträger Professor Dr. Utz Dornberger

Der Preis würdigt seine großen Verdienste um die Unterstützung wissenschaftsbasierter Gründungen und die wissenschaftsbasierte Unterstützung von Gründungen, um die Stärke und Sichtbarkeit der Universität Leipzig auf diesem Handlungsfeld und für seinen Beitrag zur positiven Entwicklung des Wissenschafts- und Wirtschaftsstandorts Leipzig.

Das Preisgeld beträgt 15.000 Euro.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Lenk steht rechts im Bild. Er überreicht die Urkunde an Prof. Dr. Utz Dornberger und gratuliert ihm. Prof. Dr. Utz Dornberger steht links im Bild
Transferpreises 2021: Prof. Dr. Thomas Lenk überreicht die Auszeichnung an Prof. Dr. Utz Dornberger. Foto: Christian Hüller/Universität Leipzig

Transferpreis 2021: Jurybegründungen

Unsere Gesellschaft basiert auf einer sozialen Ordnung, die sich in Regeln und Normen manifestiert. Indem es unabdingbare Grundsätze für das menschliche Zusammenleben definiert und Verstöße sanktioniert, ist das Strafrecht dabei von fundamentaler Bedeutung. Dieser Bedeutung gerecht wird das Strafrecht jedoch nur dann, wenn nachvollzogen werden kann: Warum bestrafen wir? Was bestrafen wir? Wen bestrafen wir? Wie und welchem Zweck bestrafen wir?

Frau Professorin Elisa Hoven hat sich in herausragender Weise um eine wissenschaftsbasierte und gesellschaftlich breite Diskussion dieser und hieran anknüpfender Fragen verdient gemacht. Ihre Leistungen reichen weit über die von Jurist:innen gemeinhin erwartete Arbeit am Gesetz hinaus und stellen so einen besonders wertvollen Beitrag zu mehr Vertrauen in Wissenschaft und Rechtstaat dar. Die Ergebnisse jüngster, häufig eigener Forschungen bringt sie mit großem Engagement und merklicher Begeisterung in die öffentliche Diskussion ein und spricht dabei zu aktuellen, hochrelevanten Themen wie dem gesellschaftlicher Zusammenhalt oder der Triage im Kontext der COVID-19-Pandemie.

Ihr kontinuierliche, beeindruckend umfangreiche Medienpräsenz ist dabei gleichermaßen Mittel zum Zweck wie Beleg ihres wissenschaftskommunikatives Erfolgs. Durch eine konsistente, authentische und crossmediale Wissenschaftskommunikation nimmt sie bewusst Einfluss auf das öffentliche Agenda Setting und positioniert sich gerade auch zu kontroversen Themen wie Hate Speech, Ausländer:innenkriminalität, Tierschutz oder Sexualstrafrecht.

Im Rahmen ungezählter Publikumsveranstaltungen, in Meinungsbeiträgen und Stellungnahmen für reichenweitenstarke Medien erläutert sie strafrechtliche Positionen und Zusammenhänge und vermittelt so erfolgreich in der Interaktion zwischen Expert:innen und Lai:innen. Mustergültig für ihr Engagement steht auch die durch Elisa Hoven initiierte und verantwortete Website wires, wirerklaerenstrafrecht.de, wobei der Name der Plattform Programm ist: Niedrigschwellige wie attraktive Texte, Videos und Links zu weiterführenden Sendungen, Podcasts und Artikeln verfolgen des Ziel, Strafrecht auch für Nicht-Jurist:innen verständlich zu machen – dank der Verzahnung der Inhalte auf sozialen Medien auch hier mit großer Reichweite.

Auch in der Politik genießt Elisa Hoven parteiübergreifend Respekt und Anerkennung, sie wird als Sachverständige regelmäßig im Rahmen politischer Entscheidungsprozesse angehört und legt, unter anderem als Mitglied des Kriminalpolitischen Kreises, vielbeachtete Stellungnahmen und Vorschläge zu aktuellen und langfristig bedeutsamen strafrechtspolitischen Fragen vor. Ihre Ernennung zur Richterin am Verfassungsgerichtshof des Freistaates Sachsen ist ein weiterer Beleg ihrer Kompetenzen und deren gesellschaftlichen Mehrwerte.

Ihr Wissen und ihre Erfahrung gibt Elisa Hoven zudem an ihre Studierenden weiter und befähigt sie durch entsprechende Schwerpunkte in ihrer Lehrtätigkeit dazu, ihr rechtliches Wissen einem breiten Publikum verständlich zu machen.

Elisa Hovens großes Verdienst um den Wissenstransfer steht in mustergültiger Weise für das Anliegen der Universität Leipzig, akademisches Wissen auch außerhalb der Wissenschaft nachhaltig zugänglich und wirksam zu machen. Durch die hiermit gewürdigten Leistungen trägt sie in anerkennenswerter Weise zu Erfolg und Sichtbarkeit des Wissenstransfers an der Universität bei und vermag ihre Angehörigen für vergleichbare Aktivitäten zu begeistern.

Professorin Elisa Hoven erhält den Transferpreis der Universität Leipzig 2021 für die erfolgreiche Übertragung herausragender, wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse in den gesellschaftlichen Diskurs und ihren Beitrag zur Profilierung der Universität Leipzig als Trägerin gesellschaftlicher Verantwortung.

Ein wesentliches Element des Transferprofils der Universität Leipzig ist ihre Stärke auf dem Gebiet der Gründungsunterstützung. Studierende, Absolvent:innen und Wissenschaftler:innen der Universität nutzen ihr Wissen und ihre im Rahmen von Studium und Forschung gewonnenen Fähigkeiten zunehmend selbstverständlich auch zur Gründung gleichermaßen innovativer wie erfolgreicher Start-ups. Diese Erfolgsgeschichten inspirieren, sie motivieren und sie prägen die Außenwirkung der Universität Leipzig seit vielen Jahren auf besonders positive Weise – und wären in ihrer Gesamtheit nicht denkbar ohne das beispielhafte Engagement von Herrn Professor Utz Dornberger.

Utz Dornberger leitet die Gründungsinitiative Smile seit ihrer Einrichtung 2006 und konnte sie zwischenzeitlich zu einer leistungsfähigen Struktur von nationaler Sichtbarkeit aufbauen. Jungen Gründungsinteressierten zeigt er attraktive Karrierewege jenseits von Wissenschaft und Angestelltenverhältnis auf und bietet Existenzgründer:innen ideale Voraussetzungen für den erfolgreiche Weg in die Selbständigkeit. Mit großer Zuverlässigkeit leistet er so zugleich einen maßgeblichen Beitrag zur Erreichung der selbst gesteckten und der mit dem Freistaat Sachsen vereinbarten Ziele der Universität Leipzig auf diesem Handlungsfeld.

Sein großes Fachwissen um den Wissens- und Technologietransfer bringt er regelmäßig in Strategiefindungsprozesse der Universität Leipzig oder einzelner Fakultäten ein, er unterstützt die Implementierung konsentierter Strategien und wirkt erfolgreich als Multiplikator und Fürsprecher des Wissens- und Technologietransfers. Seit vielen Jahren ist er eine treibende Kraft der fortschreitenden, transferrelevanten Vernetzung der Universität Leipzig – in Eilenburg oder Meißen ebenso selbstverständlich wie in Tunis und Hanoi.

Auch bei der Ausweitung der Zusammenarbeit des Universitätsverbundes Halle-Jena-Leipzig um das gemeinsame Handlungsfeld der Gründungsunterstützung kam ich eine zentrale Rolle zu. Sein Engagement war Voraussetzung für erfolgreiche Einwerbung des International Startup Campus, dessen Ziel darin besteht, die Ansiedlung internationaler Gründungsteams zu fördern, Synergien gemeinsamer Qualifizierungsangebote zu bergen und Start-ups bei der Erschließung internationaler Märkte zu unterstützen. Die forschungsbasierte Förderung Kleiner und Mittlerer Unternehmen ist auch sein Anliegen im internationalen SEPT-Programm der Universität, das er bereits seit 2004 verantwortet. Immer wieder agiert er dabei auch unmittelbar als Mentor einzelner Gründungsteams, zuletzt beispielsweise als Mentor des Teams Disaster Relief System, das mit der Entwicklung einer Wasseraufbereitungsanlage ein Stipendium des Bundeswirtschaftsministeriums einwerben konnte.

Seine Expertise auf den Gebieten von Innnovation und Unternehmensentwicklung stellt Utz Dornberger ebenso bereitwillig auch in verschiedenen, transferrelvanten Gremien und Jurys außerhalb der Universität, in Leipzig und darüber hinaus zur Verfügung. Er ist Gastgeber der seit vielen Jahren erfolgreichen Leipziger Gründernacht und längst zu einer zentralen Figur und einem der prägenden Gesichter der Leipziger Gründungszene geworden, die heute entscheidend zu Aufbruch, Innovation und Wachstum in dieser Stadt beiträgt.

Professor Utz Dornberger erhält den Sonderpreis Transfer 2021 für seine großen Verdienste um die Unterstützung wissenschaftsbasierter Gründungen und die wissenschaftsbasierte Unterstützung von Gründungen, um die Stärke und Sichtbarkeit der Universität Leipzig auf diesem Handlungsfeld und für seinen Beitrag zur positiven Entwicklung des Wissenschafts- und Wirtschaftsstandorts Leipzig.

Transferpreise 2020

2020 wurden ein Preis des Hochschulbereichs, ein Preis der Medizinischen Fakultät und ein Sonderpreis verliehen. Die Preisgelder in Höhe von insgesamt 37.500 Euro werden zweckgebunden für die Initiierung und Unterstützung von Aktivitäten im Sinne des Wissens- oder Technologietransfers an unserer Universität eingesetzt.

Transferpreis des Hochschulbereichs 2020: Preisträgerin Professorin Dr. Almuth Einspanier

Professorin Almuth Einspanier erhält den Transferpreis der Universität Leipzig 2020 für die erfolgreiche Übertragung herausragender, wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse in die Anwendung, die jenseits ihrer Tragweite für das Tierwohl in bemerkenswerter Weise Implikationen für Politik, Rechtsprechung sowie Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher mit sich bringt.

Sie ist Universitätsprofessorin für Endokrinologie und geschäftsführende Direktorin des Veterinär-Physiologisch-Chemischen Instituts an der Veterinärmedizinischen Fakultät.

Das Preisgeld beträgt 15.000 Euro.

Transferpreisträgerin Prof. Dr. Almuth Einspanier, Foto: Swen Reichhold
Transferpreisträgerin Prof. Dr. Almuth Einspanier, Foto: Swen Reichhold

Transferpreis der Medizinischen Fakultät 2020: Preisträger Professor Thomas Arendt und Dr. Jens Stieler

Professor Thomas Arendt und Dr. Jens Stieler erhalten den Transferpreis der Medizinischen Fakultät 2020 in Anerkennung  ihres außergewöhnlichen Engagements bei der Translation klinischer Forschung hin zum marktreifen Produkt und ihres Beitrags zur Bekämpfung der Alzheimerschein Krankheit.

Thomas Arendt ist Professor für Neurowissenschaft und Leiter des Paul-Flechsig-Institutes für Hirnforschung der Medizinischen Fakultät. Dr. Jens Stieler Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Paul-Flechsig-Institut.

Das Preisgeld beträgt 15.000 Euro.

Transferpreisträger Prof. Dr. Thomas Arendt und Dr. Jens Stieler, Foto: Linus Stieler
Transferpreisträger Prof. Dr. Thomas Arendt und Dr. Jens Stieler, Foto: Linus Stieler

Sonderpreis Transfer 2020: Preisträger Professor Dr. Ulrich-Johannes Schneider

Mit dem Sonderpreis Transfer würdigt die Jury das Lebenswerk von Herrn Professor Ulrich-Johannes Schneider und dessen über viele Jahre erworbenen Verdienste als Wissens- und Wissenschaftskommunikator.

Ulrich-Johannes Schneider ist Direktor der Universitätsbibliothek und Professor für Kultur- und Sozialphilosophie am Institut für Kulturwissenschaften der Fakultät für Sozialwissenschaften und Philosophie.

Das Preisgeld beträgt 7.500 Euro.

Transferpreisträger Prof. Dr. Ulrich-Johannes Schneider, Foto: Swen Reichhold
Transferpreisträger Prof. Dr. Ulrich-Johannes Schneider, Foto: Swen Reichhold

Transferpreise 2020: Jurybegründungen

Die Auswahl der Preisträger erfolgte entsprechend durch eine Jury unter dem Vorsitz des Prorektors für Entwicklung und Transfer, Professor Thomas Lenk, der neben Universitätsangehörigen auch Vertreter ebendieser Gesellschaftsbereiche angehörten.

Transferpreis des Hochschulbereichs 2020

Allein in Deutschland werden täglich mehr als 100 000 männliche Eintagsküken getötet, weil ihre Aufzucht gemeinhin als unwirtschaftlich gilt. Diese Praxis zu beenden ist eine von stetig wachsenden Gesellschaftsteilen vorgetragene Forderung und erklärtes Ziel der aktuellen Bundesregierung. Zuletzt erklärte das Bundesverwaltungsgericht die Praxis zwar für zulässig, jedoch nur bis Verfahren eingeführt wurden, die eine Geschlechtsbestimmung bereits im Hühnerei ermöglichen.

Frau Professorin Almuth Einspanier ist es durch ihre richtungsweisende, endokrinologische Forschung und ihr großes Engagement gelungen, ein solches Verfahren zur Bestimmung des Geschlechts von Hühnerembryonen mittels Hormonanalyse zu entwickeln und maßgeblich zu dessen Marktreife und ökonomischer Verwertung beizutragen. Die sogenannten „respeggt -Eier“ sind heute flächendeckend im Einzelhandel erhältlich.

Der gemeinsam mit Partnern und Förderern in Wirtschaft und Politik beschrittene Weg von der Grundlagenforschung über die Patentierung bis hin zur Markteinführung der In-Ovo-Geschlechtsbestimmung von Küken steht mustergültig für das Anliegen der Universität Leipzig, akademisches Wissen auch außerhalb der Wissenschaft nachhaltig wirksam zu machen.

Der Weg dorthin Weg ist sicherlich kein einfacher gewesen. Und doch zeigt der Erfolg, dass Ausdauer und Beharrlichkeit sich auszahlen. Neben monetären Mehrwerten durch die Patentverwertung haben die gewürdigten Leistungen maßgeblich zur Sichtbarkeit des Transfers an der Universität beigetragen und dienen zudem in besonderer Weise ihrem Ziel, sich als Treiberin für gesellschaftliche Innovationen zu profilieren und ihre Angehörigen für ähnliche Aktivitäten zu begeistern.

Frau Professorin Einspanier erhält den Transferpreis der Universität Leipzig für die erfolgreiche Übertragung herausragender, wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse in die Anwendung, die jenseits ihrer Tragweite für das Tierwohl in bemerkenswerter Weise Implikationen für Politik, Rechtsprechung sowie Verbraucherinnen und Verbraucher mit sich bringt.

Transferpreis der Medizinischen Fakultät 2020

Nicht zuletzt aufgrund der stetigen Zunahme betagter und hochbetagter Menschen stellt die Alzheimersche Krankheit unsere Gesellschaft vor große medizinische, gesundheitsökonomische und pflegerische Herausforderungen. Etwa 1,2 Millionen Menschen in Deutschland leben mit der Erkrankung, täglich kommen rund 500 Neuerkrankungen hinzu. Ihre Früherkennung stellt einen wichtigen Schritt auf dem Weg hin zu erfolgreichen Strategien der Prävention und der Therapie dar.

Herrn Professor Thomas Arendt und Herrn Dr. Jens Stieler ist es in langjähriger, im Falle von Herrn Professor Arendt über zwanzigjähriger Forschungstätigkeit gelungen, einen Blut-Test zur Frühdiagnose der Alzheimerschen Erkrankung zu entwickeln, die Methode patentrechtlich schützen zu lassen und klinisch zu validieren. In Zusammenarbeit mit einem als Lizenznehmer der Universität Leipzig agierenden US-amerikanischen Unternehmen ist die Markteinführung des Tests in greifbare Nähe gerückt.

Herr Professor Arendt und Herr Dr. Stieler erhalten den Transferpreis der Medizinischen Fakultät 2020 in Anerkennung  ihres außergewöhnlichen Engagements bei der Translation klinischer Forschung hin zum marktreifen Produkt und ihres Beitrags zur Bekämpfung der Alzheimerschein Krankheit.

Sonderpreis Transfer 2020

In ungezählten Vorträgen, Ausstellungen und anderen öffentlichkeitswirksamen Formaten weckt Herr Professor Ulrich-Johannes Schneider unermüdlich und weit über die fachlichen Grenzen von Philosophie und Bibliothekswesen hinaus Interesse, sensibilisiert für die Relevanz akademischen Wissens und macht dieses Wissen außerhalb akademischer Kontexte zugänglich und wirksam.

Beispielhaft für seine Verdienste steht Herrn Professor Schneiders Engagement um den Leipziger Wissenschaftstalk „Thomasius-Club“. Für das regelmäßige Stattfinden und den Erfolg dieses öffentlichen, ein diverses Publikum einbeziehenden Formats der transparenten Wissenskommunikation zwischen Academia und Stadtgesellschaft zeichnet er – unter anderem als Ko-Moderator – seit den Anfängen der Veranstaltungsreihe 2006 maßgeblich verantwortlich.

Nicht zuletzt spiegelt sich Herrn Professor Schneiders Anliegen, den an der Universität Leipzig tradierten und stetig erweiterten Wissensschatz weiten Gesellschaftsteilen zugänglich zu machen, auch in seinen richtungsweisenden Bemühungen wider, die Universitätsbibliothek zunehmend als Ort des Austauschs und der Begegnung zu kultivieren, wobei er sich Mitteln der Innenarchitektur ebenso wie Mitteln der Digitalisierung bedient.

Mit dem Sonderpreis Transfer würdigt die Jury das Lebenswerk von Herrn Professor Ulrich-Johannes Schneider und dessen über viele Jahre erworbenen Verdienste als Wissens- und Wissenschaftskommunikator.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Forschung und Transfer

mehr erfahren

Wirtschaftskooperationen

mehr erfahren

Erfindungen und Patente

mehr erfahren